Quick Lake Levels

Generation Schedule
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Gar Fishing Close To Springfield

35 posts in this topic

Posted · Report post

I'm looking to catch some alligator gar. I'm new to fishing and I've never fished for gar before. What's a good place close to Springfield to catch these things? What bait should I use, and have I been watching too much river monsters? Thanks guys.

Posted · Report post

I'm looking to catch some alligator gar. I'm new to fishing and I've never fished for gar before. What's a good place close to Springfield to catch these things? What bait should I use, and have I been watching too much river monsters? Thanks guys.

Don't know where to go but I've always heard you should put a piece of frayed nylon rope above the hook to get their teeth tangled.

Posted · Report post

The closest place to Springfield for Alligator Gar would be the lower White River in Arkansas. http://www.bassonhoo...icle%20688.html

What we have around here is the Long-Nose and Short-nose varieties.

Where could one have a good chance to site fish to either of those flavors of gar around here? I bet they would kill these flies!

post-10802-13034917293743_thumb.jpg

Posted · Report post

I'd also like to catch the long and short nose ones. I'm not too picky about what bites my hook. Where can I find those around here?

Posted · Report post

James River below springfield lake or even down at Blunk Hole. I've already caught 3 of them in the last couple of weeks fishing for white bass.

Posted · Report post

James River below springfield lake

Thanks Duane. I haven't really checked it out, but what I have seen below the dam looks like pretty small water. How far down do you have to go?

Posted · Report post

There's no minimum size on them- they're a non-game fish. Alligator gar, however, are state endangered and must be released. If you want to eat one, just remember not to eat the eggs- they're toxic. Otherwise, good luck in general.

Rob