34 replies to this topic

#1 MrDontPlay

MrDontPlay

Chestnut Lamprey

• Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 04:40 PM

I'm looking to catch some alligator gar. I'm new to fishing and I've never fished for gar before. What's a good place close to Springfield to catch these things? What bait should I use, and have I been watching too much river monsters? Thanks guys.

#2 Mitch f

Mitch f

Highfin Carpsucker

• Fishing Buddy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,273 posts
  • Interests:Fishing, Golf, trying to offer meaningful guidance to my kids

Posted 22 April 2011 - 08:55 AM

I'm looking to catch some alligator gar. I'm new to fishing and I've never fished for gar before. What's a good place close to Springfield to catch these things? What bait should I use, and have I been watching too much river monsters? Thanks guys.

Don't know where to go but I've always heard you should put a piece of frayed nylon rope above the hook to get their teeth tangled.
"Honor is a man's gift to himself" Rob Roy McGregor

#3 RSBreth

RSBreth

Bigeye Shiner

• Fishing Buddy
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,636 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 09:22 AM

The closest place to Springfield for Alligator Gar would be the lower White River in Arkansas. http://www.bassonhoo...rticle 688.html
What we have around here is the Long-Nose and Short-nose varieties.

OZARK OUTDOOR JOURNAL My various ramblings and shenanigans...

#4 Trout Commander

Trout Commander

MFU

• Fishing Buddy
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Interests:Family, Fly Fishing, Fly Tying, Baseball.

Posted 22 April 2011 - 11:02 AM

The closest place to Springfield for Alligator Gar would be the lower White River in Arkansas. http://www.bassonhoo...icle%20688.html

Where could one have a good chance to site fish to either of those flavors of gar around here? I bet they would kill these flies!

Attached Files

I have spent most of my money on fly fishing and beer. The rest I just wasted.

Posted Image