Shoal Creek Watercraft

karnivore

• Members

Hello fellow anglers...

I'm a noob to this site, and am looking for a boat of some sort to fish SWMO this year. I've floated a few times, but have borrowed boats from friends, but haven't really tried fishing & floating. I have waded around a little here in the area...but really want to get in and on the water this year. SO...I've looked at several angling kayaks since I'll typically be going solo, but would appreciate any input you'd be willing to give as far as the type of craft I'd need. I figured I'd post here since I'm in the Joplin area and it seems a lot of posters here are from around there. Shoal is a place I've wanted to float but haven't had the chance yet...

It seems I always start dreaming of getting on the water around this time of year...the warmer temps and mild winter (thus far!) have made it even worse! Have really enjoyed this site for the last few days...just watching from a distance thus far...

thanks fellas...

nate

Well be careful of which part of Shoal you float, there's a landowner down there who's not too receptive to folks floating his stretch of the "creek".. Called the law on us!

Good luck.

cricket.c21.com

Just an update, that is still in court.

For me personally, I would either look at a solo canoe or regular (16-17ft) canoe. Stay away from aluminum.

Academy in Joplin will be reopening this Friday. I am planing on making a trip up there. If you would like, meet me there and we can saunder on over to the boat section and we can discuss some of the finer points of what makes a good Ozark river craft.

Chief Grey Bear

Living is dangerous to your health

Owner Ozark Fishing Expeditions

Co-Owner, Chief Executive Product Development Team Jerm Werm

Executive Pro Staff Team Agnew

Executive Pro Staff Paul Dallas Productions

Executive Pro Staff Team Heddon, River Division

Chief Primary Consultant Missouri Smallmouth Alliance

Executive Vice President Ronnie Moore Outdoors