New To The Area

Buford Mitchell

• Members

I am new to the are but have been fishing the riddle bridge area since its about 10 minutes from my house. Is it possible to fish the gasconade with any success during the winter? I have a 16/48 jon boat with a 15.5 hp motor I use. What rivers/lakes/ponds can I use it on? I don't know all the area that well and I don't want to bottom out or get on to big of water for the boat. I like to have a variety of place to fish though so any guidance in locations would be greatly appreciated......

You've got a perfect boat for where you are. You NEED to bottom out a few times, just so you know where you can run, and where you need to pole-paddle- or hop out. Just take it easy at first and you won't tear anything up that can't be fixed with a hammer and a file.

Explore and have fun, they'll bite all Winter long.

You've got more water within an hour +/- drive than you could cover in a lifetime almost, and a 16' jon can handle all of it (with a little discretionary planning). Lake O, Truman, Pomme, Big Piney, Osage and Mo.river ect.

Google "Mo.Conservation atlas" and search accesses by county/region.

I had a 16/48 also when I first moved here and I was able to run it on everything from the Gnade to the big lake O DURING THE OFF SEASON. That last part is important, the summer months on the lake with leave you swamped and cussing at all the big boats. Right now is perfect though, just watch the weather. Wrench is right just go bottom the darn thing out a few times until you figure it out. There are some accesses on post. Most turn their nose up to it because that is all they fish, the accesses. If you get away from them in your boat you might just be surprised at the quality of fishing that is nearby your workplace. PM me if you want any more info as I frequent most of the watersheds in your area, and if you see me out in the kayak (camo ascend) give me a shout...welcome to the area.

• Members