Mystery Reel

Old plug

I have a small Garcia reel I have had for several years. last summer It suddenly developed a wobble in the crank. I opened the plate and found that the tiny retaining washer that is located over the nut at the end of that gear assembly I guess you might call it had for some reason just snapped. I never had that happen before. So I improvises a retained washer by wrapping size E nylon thread around the slot a few times. and tying it off. well it has worked fine but I still want the washer. The reel is a Garcia it has a raised picture on one side of a guy catching a bass. The reel is silver and the raised picture is gold. anybody know the model.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm by no means an expert, but I looked at some of my old Abu Garcia baitcasters. Mine were from the early 70's, and they were putting a crest on the side. So I assume yours is an older model.

I'll do a bit of checking and see if I can figure it out.

@lozcrappie

I'm by no means an expert, but I looked at some of my old Abu Garcia baitcasters. Mine were from the early 70's, and they were putting a crest on the side. So I assume yours is an older model.

I'll do a bit of checking and see if I can figure it out.

Seems like there was a special edition or something like that from the late 80's. early 90's. I remember seeing some with that crest on the side that were new back then but have no idea what they were.

Seems like there was a special edition or something like that from the late 80's. early 90's. I remember seeing some with that crest on the side that were new back then but have no idea what they were.

I was thinking the same thing.