Ultrex vs Xi5 Minn Kota vs MotorGuide GPS Lock

Bill Babler

To kind of continue the topic of the fish finders I have had some first hand knowledge in the past month with both the Minn Kota Ultrex and the MotorGuide Xi5 both are GPS locking units and you can also throw in the Minn Kota Terrova, and the MotorGuide X5.  I have had the pleasure of fishing this Spring with several clients in their personal boats that use the Minn Kota units and really have not been as impressed as I have wanted to be.  I'm not saying if you have any of the above units that its bad, far from it.  What I'm saying is they all have issues.

I have had the opportunity to not only fish but run all of the above units for several days each on the water.  Some of these days were down right nasty with wind and heavy surf.  Others were calm and easy, so I have a little bit of apples to oranges in several conditions.

Lets talk about the Ultrex.  This is a beast of a unit that operates on both a fob and a direct wired foot ignition.  It is a self deploying unit and for those of us that are getting up in years and don't like lifting and toting that is a pretty slick feature.  Problem is  you have massive wires on the deck that allow it to raise and lower and have to deploy and stack when it comes up and down.  It is also belt driven and that has been a more than major problem.  The belt that raises and deploys the unit seem to burn out at the worst time and in the worst spot.  I fished with 2 pro's that both had full sponsorship from Johnson Outdoors that is a parent company of Minn Kota and both with 2016 motors had, had multiple belts burn out.  This is a big problem.  No belts burned during the time with them, but I did notice that using the foot starter that the motor does not respond with the quickness that I want.  It is somewhat of a delay and  both the turning speed and the prop speed is very slow to respond.  Really very similar to the remote unit in the Xi5 that is not hard wired.