Deep throat....

Dutch

I took my s-I-l and Old Ned fishing last night.  We used the deal, blue/black, pb&j, june bug, California craw, and bubble gum.  We wound up catching 45 bass all on the Ned.  We got into spots on the first stop having several just sublegal.  A little later we hit the brown fish.  Those rascals were every where.  We had close to 30 of just them.  Green fish were very scattered with one coming now and then.

On back to back casts I caught good sized female white bass on the deal so we switched to hair jigs and caught 41 of them.  Then went back to the Ned.

I am a newbie on these itty bitty hooks with brown fish.  Several of them were bellied up like they hadn't spawned yet.  I thought they spawned in upper 50s water.  Lots of them were hooked very deep.  I have no problem going through the gills and getting the hook out without damaging the fish but s-I-l has fat fingers and has lots of trouble with that approach.

So those in the know, what do you do when fishing the slack line method to keep fish from getting hooked deep?

Dutch and others,

Here's THE DEAL..................... for the NED RIG..................................  don't use it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Many, many,many,  fish die from it  !!!!!!!!  It is a proven small fish catcher ( even though it catches big ones too. ) I personally don't want to catch ANY small fish although sometimes it just happens. I know I will hear about this post. Those forthcoming comments won't make me waiver. It is just not the right method for catch and release of fish with large mouths. ( Pun intended )

Walcrabass

You should design a lure similar to a passafier, with a lip large enough to prevent the fish from swallowing it.   Maybe a frisbee with a ned glued to the middle?   Or maybe a soccer ball with neds glued to all the black squares...it would be the a-rig of ned rigs catch several at a time! I want royalties.

• Members