Walleye Search-Few LM

TwinSprings

• Members

Needed to get my boat out so late afternoon I headed to Holiday Island to launch  and then headed upstream past Beaver. I’m on a quest for Walleye and decided to try jigging and a NR. No success on the Walleye but about 20 minutes before sunset I managed to pick up 5 smaller Largemouth on a Binks jig in near 5 consecutive drops of the jig. These fish were right on the bottom in about 20ft of water near the drop-off to the deeper channel. Water temp at surface was 54 and there was a good current flowing out of Beaver. Caught these off the mouth of the big creek just west of Beaver. The current pushed me off the spot pretty quick and it was about to get dark so I decided to come back the next day and hit them again. There was likely a few more fish to catch here and they were hitting that spoon hard.

My question is, what depth are you typically finding the walleye at the upper end of the lake this time of year? I’m new to this lake and appreciate any advice.  

CDEB4442-B54C-4633-82AF-E6174371D7BB.jpeg

I have caught several under feeding bass.

If you kind of make a short cast out away from the mob of feeding fish, let it fall below where you think the bass are, then work it like a wounded minnow under the school it works pretty good sometimes.

I pick it up one good jump, let it die, then a couple of short weak hops, then a bigger jump, that kind of thing.

My uncle caught a couple in 50 ish feet of water the other day. I think he said 5 keeper bass, 1 keeper walleye, 3 shorts, something like that.

At night they get shallow.

From now until February 1, a minnow tipped light color jig (think Road Runner) .in the 1/8 to 3/16 size fished like you described for the Binks. Put the hook point in the mouth and through the floor of the mouth. Turn it and bring it back in through the gills. Stays on better that way and I think it helps make it less likely to hang.