Lightening the load

Time to get rid of things I no longer use but have to care for. Accordingly I'm offering the following bamboo rods for sale on my local board before doing so nationally. If interested contact me at <of939@centurytel.net> PLEASE put 'Bamboo Rods' in the subject line as I've gotten in the habit of instantly trashcanning mail from any address I don't recognize after losing several computer systems to 'bugs'. Crippled Caddis

################################################################################

#1. This'un is the 'good'un' of the bunch. And the high $ one too! To start with it comes with a story------20 something years ago I was hired by Mel Krieger as one of his local 'experts' (little did he know! :lol: ) to help him put on one of his casting clinics. One of the students was an old fellow already in his '70s and a lifelong flyfisher. Being self-taught he had some of the worst casting faults imaginable and they were well and truly ingrained. The other assistants wanted nothing further to do with him after the first rotation, but I figured he'd paid the same $ a everyone else and he sure needed help in eliminating a lot of long practiced casting faults. Besides I rather admired him for pursuing improvement at his advanced age. So I was 'stuck' with him for the remainder of the 2 days. I admit that my attempts weren't exactly 100% successful but at the end of the class he was a little better than when we started and he thought his $ had been well invested. So I was rather surprised to see him walk into the flyshop where I worked the following week with a rodcase in hand. He took me aside after I was finished with my customer and said, "I brought you something if you want it" and handed me the rodcase. I opened it to find a 3/2, 8 1/2' Phillipson 'Powr Pakt' bamboo for a 6 in almost new condition in original bag and case.. Then he told me the story about it. Immediately following WW2 new rods were rather hard to get so when the opportunity