Bottom bouncing 101

• Members

As I sit here today waiting for the guy to come fix my Tv.lol. I thought I might write a little bit about how myself and friends bottom bounce for walleye.  I get questions almost everyday on the topic. First I will preface this by stating that the opinions here are mine.lol  I am not here to say that there are not a hundred other ways to do this method.  But rather give some insight to what I have learned over the past few years.  I started walleye fishing about 11 years ago.  By going on a trip to nunguesser lake in Ontario Canada.   When I returned I decided to look into walleye fishing in missouri.  I started researching lakes and found Stockton to have a good population  of walleye so I decided to make that my home lake.  I have been fishing for about 45 years.  For almost all the usual species found in Missouri.  I fell in love with walleye fishing because of the challenge of catching walleye on a regular basis is not something everyone does.  When I started looking into walleye on Stockton.  I started with a jig and night crawler. With reasonable success.  And it is still a great method to catching them. And to be honest there is nothing better than catching a walleye on a jigging rod. Imo.  About 3 years into learning Stockton and its walleye population i decided to try some new methods i had been hearing about on Ozark anglers. So bottom bouncing caught my eye.  I started acquiring  all the necessary  gear to fish this method.  After 7 or so years of doing it this is the system I currently  use. I used bass pro bottom bouncing rods with pro qualifier II reels. With 30lb suffix 832 braided line.  Tied to a 2oz bottom bouncer. I tie most of my crawler harnesses  using 17lb vanish fluorocarbon.  I use mainly northland bait fish image crawler harnesses or there components  to make my own version. I used 2oz bottom bouncer exclusively  because I rarely bottom bounce deeper than 25ft.  When I am fishing points or rocky banks for th