99 Gmc 2500 Troubles

Forsythian

Here's an interesting problem for you mechanics out there...

The truck has a 5.7L Vortec engine with about 100,000 miles... has always run well.

I was driving in a bit of traffic when it very suddenly began running rough, and a strong sulfur smell filled the air.

It got me home, and I've had it out since for the short trip to Oreillys.

The sulfur smell seems to be gone, but the truck acts like it's only running on 7 cylinders.

No "check engine" light has appeared. I've replaced plugs and wires so far. Any ideas? thanks a bunch

Cenosillicaphobiac

I'm not an expert, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn last night.

It sounds to me like you have at least one cylinder that's not firing for some reason. I'd take a look at the distributer, maybe a broken rotor? The sulfur smell is from unburnt fuel making it to the cat converter so you should only have one thing to fix for now.

The good thing about that engine is that it shouldn't be that expensive to fix, and then you'll drive it for another couple of hundred thousand miles.

Good luck!

::. JobyKSU

Tippet Breaker Extraordinaire

Thanks Joby, but I don't think that's it.

I drove it a bit today, it runs pretty well on the highway, it's idling horrible. It's lost some power too, but it doesn't seem to be missing (especially at about 35 mph or better).

I was hoping some bad gas (I know how that can be), but no.

Maybe an O2 sensor, but shouldn't that cause the dummy light to come on?

Cenosillicaphobiac

you have a stuck open egr valve, Carbon has prolly stuck it.Also if it was missing a check engine light would shine, and a miss code would be set.

Well, I just replaced the egr valve... It seems to be idling better, but once in gear and accelerating from a stop it is still pretty rough. Looks like I might be headed for the shop.

Cenosillicaphobiac