Shoal Creek Questions

hoglaw

So I'm thinking about going this weekend. I know how folks can be about their favorite spots on their favorite creek, but I'm going one way or another so that is what it is.

Anyway, a friend of mine just bought a good chunk of land on Shoal just west of Monett. His property line starts a quarter of a mile from Highway 60, and it's directly across from a boat ramp he says. I'm going to either put in or take out on his property I think, and just figure out somewhere else to start or finish the trip.

First of all, does the creek flow from east to west or from west to east?

I see a couple of road crossings, but with all the talk of law enforcement out there, I don't want to do something I'm not supposed to. Where can I put in without worrying about getting into a hassle. Believe it or not, playing the "Well I'm a lawyer and...." card doesn't work well at all. Generally I just tell them I'm a mortician.

Where is Prater's property in relation to where I'll be?

If there's a boat ramp across from my friend's property, I'm guessing that this part of the creek gets floated and fished a ton. I'm taking a couple of folks out that aren't really fishermen or drinkers - just wanting a nice quiet float. I can take them to places in Arkansas where we wouldn't see a boat on memorial day weekend, but I figured I'd try this creek and I was hoping it had a little more water than most of my stuff down here.

Also, is there enough water to float the creek at all right now?

I know that's a lot of questions. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Are you over by Smackout? Do you know where that is? The water is low right now, but hey that could change by tonight! If you are over by 60 then you are no where close to Prater's place and no worries. That section doesn't get hammered like the other ones.

"you can always beat the keeper, but you can never beat the post"