Report 4-12-15 PM and a cautionary reminder

M_Taylor

I fished for stripers last night mid lake. I found them on Keitechs and Rogues but couldn't find any big ones. Been the story for a whole week now. Still fun on light gear. Water temps were 62-64.

I also saw some topwater action well after sunset but couldn't connect with them. While fishing for stripers I managed a nice walleye on the Rogue. All were caught in less than 25FOW.

The Rogues I'm using get down about 8-10ft.

Something I wanted to remind people of that really hit home to me was to be cautious of underwater structure that is off the main land or islands. I took a boat ride towards the clear water just for fun yesterday before fishing. I'm still learning my boat and the electronics,and of course the lake. The wind really picked up for awhile and was white capping good. I got on the trolling motor to check out an island and immediately decided it was too rough to be fishing comfortably but threw a few times anyway. I was going around to get out of the wind when straight in front of me was a giant boulder just under the surface. Now I was off the shoreline a good 20-30 yards. Thanks to polarized glasses and a strong trolling motor it didn't cause me any trouble. But with that wind at my back, it could have been a serious issue if I hadn't been paying attention. It reminded me that even if your aren't running full speed on your main engine, you need to be aware of what could be under the surface. If that had been at night, which is when I often fish, I'd hate to think what would have had happened.

There are lots of boulders like that from about Ventris on down towards the dam, and around the center of Horseshoe Bend. I remember someone hitting the one out from Rocky Branch Marina at planing speed at night. Ugly sound! From LaRue on to just past Rocky Branch is a particularly hazardous area.

Glad you weren't hurt or the new boat either.