Sac River

Alright, I have read through some posts. I am a student at msu. I primarily crappie fish on lake of the Ozarks and smallmouth fish on the Niangua River. I am wanting to know of some good places on the sac to get my fix in. I have gone to Caplinger Mills 2x and got skunked each time including today as well as from the looks of it everyone else did also. Not asking for your honey holes. Just asking for some advice for a college kid and some others who can’t get the boat out everyday anymore lol

If you want a good smallmouth spot go somewhere else. I love the Sac and Lil Sac and Turnback creek but there are better places for smallmouth in about the same driving distance. 

it’s weird really because Stockton is such a good smallmouth lake. But up the rivers it’s a bunch of small spotted bass. Fun, but not what you are after. 

Yeah I can't help you with any smallmouth holes, I know the James river is great for them but I don't ever fish it. However, the little sac is just a 30 minute drive from the north side of Springfield and offers a fantastic white bass run that is just starting up (a bonus walleye every once in awhile as well). There are several bank spots as well so you don't have to have a boat. 

Caplinger is below Stockton. You need to look above. Taylor, Orleans, Frisco Trail, and 215 are the spots on the Lil Sac you need to be looking at. Going to be a lot closer to Springfield. You also have the James River close to Table Rock and Beaver Creek close to Bull Shoals for the spring run of Whites.