Jf Water Levels - Alternate Float?

cdog222

• Members

I have a float planned for the upper JF from Buck Hollow back to Alley at the end of May, but I'm a bit concerned about water levels. I've been floating this stretch for 8 or 9 years between late April to late May, and the concern has always been too much water, not too little. I'm hopeful that we'll get enough rain to pull it off, but just in case I was wondering what a good backup plan would be?

The upper JF is my personal heaven - I can't imagine that there is something comparable, but my ozark stream experience is limited to the upper JF. Is there a stretch of the Current or some other stream that offers the ambiance, no crowds.....and lots of smallies? We usually spend 3 nights on the JF, so I'll have that many days set aside for the trip and would like to sleep on some gravel bars somewhere :)

Suggestions are certainly appreciated - or some reassurance that the JF will have enough water to float! Guess I better learn a rain dance of some sort......

If the Jacks Fork is too low to float, chances are that all other streams that are small enough to give one some solitude are also too low. But if you are able to go during the middle of the week, the Current from Round Spring to Powdermill ain't too shabby. You'll see some rental canoes and a few jetboats, probably, but there are plenty of smallies in that stretch and it's absolutely gorgeous scenery, with wild country and big bluffs.