Geocaching

Daryk Campbell Sr

I am new to Geocahing, I have 4 Finds in the St Louis/Jefferson County area. For those who don't know what it is,

Geocaching is a free real-world outdoor treasure hunt. Players try to locate hidden containers, called geocaches, using a smartphone or GPS and can then share their experiences online. ( Copied from www.geocaching.com)

Caches can be difficult and sometimes easy to find, they can be underground, in the air and underwater.

I have found kids caches and a couple film container (micro) caches. I go by sk8er96 on the website.

Money is just ink and paper, worthless until it switches hands, and worthless again until the next transaction. (me)

I am the master of my unspoken words, and the slave to those that should have remained unsaid. (unknown)

A buddy at work is getting me started on it this weekend. He once found one inside a drilled out plastic pine cone hanging in a pine tree. He only found it because it was bigger then the natural ones. I go by mlmcd02

It is a fun sport. Whenever I travel to a new place, I usually download the local caches and try to knock out a few if I have time. My favorites are usually in cemetaries. Nice quiet places with alot of history.

I have found several ranging from micro caches that were about the size of 5 asprins stacked together to a full blown outhouse full of more stuff than a Dollar Tree. Travel bugs are fun.

My handle is the same on geocaching.com, jdmidwest.

"Life has become immeasurably better since I have been forced to stop taking it seriously."

— Hunter S. Thompson

You have to put together a kit in a fanny pack or something. Cell phones are great for the ones in places where you have service, but you need a gps with download capability to really get the ones off the beaten paths. A fine point pen for signing the little logs. Some trinkets to leave behind in the larger caches. A laptop or netbook works great too.