First attempt at bass flies

A couple weeks ago we were at my father-in-law’s house and, as usual, the conversation drifted to fishing, flies, and fly tying. He brought out a box of flies tied by an amazing fly tier and old friend of his who is no longer with us. As we went through the box of flies, my father-in-law was regaling us with fishing tales of old and I found a pair of bass flies that intrigued me. Although my tying skills leave much to be desired I decided to try my hand at tying them. Here is how they turned out. The first photo are the original flies I tried to copy. The second and third photos are my attempt. I’m open to any and all suggestions and critiques.

B2FA1125-BD7A-4981-96F8-A719DF12318C.jpeg

515EFAFA-84D2-4CFD-9233-D03CFE2946C0.jpeg

3074E986-4E0C-4333-AAE6-402F35E82909.jpeg

I'm still working out the shape of the head but it's getting closer. I like the shading on his much better than mine also, but I'm no artist so mine probably won't get much better. This was my first experience working with bucktail too and I definitely learned a couple things. I'm going to take this one down to the pond tonight and give a try. Hopefully my next couple tries will work out a little better. 

Those look good to me! Bass flies are a lot of fun to do. We've got some really good tiers on here too. @BilletHead, @Flysmallie come to mind. 

If you look through this sub-forum you'll see some step-by-steps, fly swaps, etc. Really good info and source of ideas.

Keep at it!

John

1 hour ago, tangledup said: