Taneyfest Recap

fmcbrandon

• Members

What a weekend!  Food, fishing, fun, and friends.  As a newbie, I felt welcomed and can’t wait to get together again.  The conditions were less than ideal, but we still caught some fish.   I was blessed to get to fish both Duane and Phill. I leaned a lot from both. 

The food was amazing. Thanks to all the guys who cooked. Duane worked his magic with the fish and the deer nachos.  Those flavor crystals were on point. The Martyque that Les made was amazing and Johns mushrooms were great.  Let’s not even talk about the smoked chili and kraut and sausage in Thursday.  

Fishimg on the lake was good buy a bit slow. For me , it was the night that was awesome.  Dj, Geno, Daryk, John, and I all wandered up and braved the dark and cold.  The fishing was good, I daughter several nice bows.

The highlight was a story I will never forget  if Daryk would not have been there I don’t think any one would have believed it.  At about 11 Dj and Duane’s lute were slammed by a big fish.  After 10 minutes or so, we finally got a glimpse of the biggest brown he had ever hooked up on. He did a fantastic job of bringing him in, then disaster struck.  I was trying to net it for him and the the fish came off.  Dj dropped to his knees and grabbed for the tail.  He was not able to keep the hold and did not get a picture.  We were both beyond upset.  

He stood for a while dejected and I went back to fishing.  After about 5 minutes, I was slammed and it was on!  My little ultralight bent over and the drag screamed.  After around 10 minutes we were able to land it!  A beautiful brown and she was HUGE!!  Measured 32’ and 11” tall.  It was the same fish DJ had hooked up on.  She even had a 12” rainbow sticking out of her mouth. We were able to get pictures for both of us, and we are having a mount made.  She was released and swam off strong.